The deep desert is not fun.

Wares officially bartered.

Wares officially bartered.

After Potam acquired her imp hide robes but she still had all those leather items in her bank. What do we do when we have an exceptional amount of items? We sell them! Sell them all! So, I teleported to the Varrock and headed to the Grand Exchange to barter my wares. Unfortunately none of these items are in particularly high demand so it will take some time to sell all of them.

Alright, moving on.

I was getting kind of tired of the whole Lumbridge/Varrock scene so after teleporting back to Lumbridge I headed south, out of Lumbridge, and then west over a bridge into Al Kharid, a desert city. I explored a bit and learned the castle there is on lockdown. You can’t get in anywhere but you can kill the guards if you’re bored but there really isn’t much else you can do to interact with the castle itself.

It is very beige there.

It is very beige there.

I moved on the rest of the city and activated the lodestone. The city itself is not very big but there are places to buy scimitars (Hint: this is the prime weapon for any melee-focused character), plate legs, or plate skirts. (You know, in case you want to look feminine when you’re killing goblins.) There ar also the Al Kharid games you can look into. Personally, I’ve always viewed these as a perfectly good waste of time and gp but whatever floats your goat. If you’re in need of snacks, there is a Kebab shop where you can buy…wait for it… kebabs for one gp. Kebabs are meant to be a bit risky though. Sometimes they can give you 300 health points while other times they can give you nothing. In addition to giving you health points, if you get a spectacularly delectable kebab it can even raise some combat stats whereas a putrid kebab can lower stats.

From there I headed south to where there was an alcove with a bank chest and from there I couldn’t go any further south without receiving this message (for f2p players, you shall not pass):

Psh.

Psh.

Obviously I clicked “Proceed Regardless” because I’m not afraid of anything and into the desert I ventured. To the right of this gate there was a weeping damsel in distress. Me, being the good samaritan that I am, asked her what was the matter and apparently her daughter had gone into the desert and NOT RETURNED. GASP.

THE QUEST HAS BEGUN.

I was told to follow some footsteps heading south and sure enough there were some footsteps in the sand clear as day.

It's like they wanted me to see them or something.

It’s like they wanted me to see them or something.

So, I followed said footsteps to a band of miners guarding some sort of gate. I sweet-talked my way (meaning I paid one miner five gp) into telling me how to get past the gate. apparently the guard captain had a key on him but he wasn’t going to let me in, of all people, unless I found some guy named Al Zaba Bhasim (possibly hiding in the west *hint*hint*wink*wink*), captured him, and brought him back to the head guard. All of the sudden I lost about three fourths of my health. I looked in my chat box: I guess we need waterskins to hang out in the desert. Who knew? Well, I certainly didn’t. I had maybe 100 health left out of 500 so I had to book it back to Al Kharid to buy some (4) waterskins. (Hint: you can buy them from the guy next to the guy selling game stuffs.) I also bought a desert shirt, boots, robe, a fake beard, and a turban. If you combine your turban with your fake beard it makes a desert disguise. I don’t know what it’s supposed to be used for but I put it on anyways, just in case.

So, with my sweet desert disguise and my waterskins I journeyed back to the desert, to the miners’ camp, and west to find that Al Zabadoobeedoo guy and return him to the hands of justice! Soon enough I found a camp and in the centermost tent was the tent-dwellers’ leader who told me that man doe not exist. I had to return to the captain, insult him for not fighting his own battles and then we fought. It took some time and a kebab but eventually I killed him, and look at that! He dropped a key!

Me in my desert garb.

Me in my desert garb stuck in my cell.

There I took the key, got in through the gate and I wasn’t in there a minute before some guards caught me and threw me in jail. Great.

I’ve tried to escape time and time again but to no avail. I’ve bent the bars, gone outside, talked to all the slaves, the cart drivers, and even the camel. I’ve checked all the crates and even snuck up to the second floor of the prison and talked to the captain. I tried to convince him there was a fire in the lower mines and instead of sounding the alarm I ran to save him first but I got nowhere. Oh, and I was caught and roughed up by some guards at least ten times whilst completing these tasks. I’m officially stuck. I guess I’ll have cave and check the wiki. Or maybe not… no matter how many times I get thrown back into jail, I will find a way! I promise you that! By the way, I’m down to one waterskin so I better figure this out soon or I’m going to die. Cool beans.

Categories: Al Kharid, f2p, Lumbridge, p2p, Quests, The Grand Exchange, Varrock | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “The deep desert is not fun.

  1. Pingback: The deep desert is still not fun. | Runescape: The Adventure

  2. Pingback: Weekly Review: RuneScape Edition Part II | Yesterday's news.

  3. Pingback: Once Upon A Time: The Desert | Daily Story For Children

  4. Pingback: Game with two friends! (Pt. 1) | Runescape: The Adventure

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

