Game with a friend.

This session we have a special guest, my very good friend, Archery Swag (a.k.a. Taylor). He is a member and one of the gentlemen who got me started in RS back in high school. He’s been a member for a while now so he is a little more advanced than I am when  it comes to knowledge. He and my other character MaggieMayy1, founded our own clan: The Mafia Knitting Club. Well, since I wasn’t really participating all that much in my other grammatically impaired clan, I bailed and joined The Mafia Knitting Club.

#SuperSick

#SuperSick

Sorry, Red Dragans; I have officially moved on to greener pastures.

Perks to ‘Scaping with a friend:

  • Leveling advice.
  • You’re not just someone playing alone in your room.
  • You have a wingman.
  • Trade!
  • Dungeoneering opportunities.
  • The wilderness buddy system.
  • Dueling arena.
  • Dance parties!

And the list goes on…

Taylor goes to Michigan Tech and surprised me by being in Bemidji on Friday. (My friends and I play a nation-wide game of tag and he came and tagged me as well as stayed for the weekend.) This is why my posts are late. We played RS for a little while too and this was the perfect opportunity to have a great gaming session.

Right about this time, I had officially given up on the old quest. I wasn’t leveling up fast enough and I was ready to do exploring elsewhere. The best part about RS quests is the fact that you can leaven whenever you want and when you come back you can pick right back up where you left off. Someday, I’ll return but not this day.

Potam, Achery Swag, and Archery Swag's overgrown cat killing cows.

Potam, Achery Swag, and Archery Swag’s overgrown cat killing cows.

Although my imp robes were cool, we decided I needed some legitimate range armor. My defense isn’t high enough so I’m stuck with leather for now. We hopscotched our way over to Beefy Bill’s pasture. (Hint: the fastest way to get to Beefy Bill’s pasture is via  Draynor lodestone.) We were killing cows left and right until both of our inventories were full of cow hides. then, up to Varrock we went to have them tanned. I accidentally had them tanned into hard leather so the only things I could craft were more hard leather gloves. Fantastic. The hard leather gloves I had made before still hadn’t sold on the Grand Exchange so I doubt these would but I put them up for sale anyway. Now, I needed to level up my crafting skill so I could make better armor. I was about to return to Beefy BIll’s when Taylor mentioned flax farming. There is a flax farm just South of Seers’ Village. (This is in the p2p world.) I needed to activate those lodestones still so I teleported the Taverly and then had to walk the rest of the way.

Taylor has his own 14-step system to profit:

This is flax.

This is flax.

  1. Fill inventory with flax.
  2. Run North of Seers Village bank.
  3. Bank all flax.
  4. Repeat steps 1-3 until satisfied.
  5. Fill inventory one more time.
  6. Teleport to Lumbridge.
  7. Go to the second floor.
  8. Spin flax into bow strings at the spinning wheel there. (Crafting)
  9. Go to third floor bank.
  10. Exchange bow strings for more flax.
  11. Repeat steps 7-10 until out of flax.
  12. Go to Grand Exchange.
  13. Sell all bow strings.
  14. Profit.
Simple enough.

Simple enough.

We did that a couple of turns until Taylor told me about some fancy boots, I think they’re called “boots of lightness” or something along those lines. They increase your stamina as well as make you faster. You see, the more things you carry the slower you go and the worse your stamina; these boots fix that. The location of these boots were in this crazy dungeon and we had to buy candles and light them first in order to see. I was attacked by bats on the way down there but once my combat level gets high enough these pests shant be an issue. I had to claw through some spider webs but I got the boots! I haven’t noticed any difference but that’s because I don’t carry much to begin with.

After we got out of that dark place we returned to our flax farming. However, we were stopped along the way by this bouncing box-thing. I bought a ticket and entered. I was greeted by a circus set-up and three options. I chose the range course where I had to shoot at certain targets at different distances. I hit the first few but I missed most of them. Fortunately, I still got a bunch of xp from it so all was well.

My kitteh.

My kitteh.

Then, Taylor and I decided I needed a cat. I had seen other members with pets and I wanted one but didn’t know how. Taylor had a cat so he knew the ropes. I had to complete this Gertrude’s Cat quest, as long as it wasn’t as complicated as that desert quest, sign me up! Off to Varrock we teleported. This time we check the wiki first. I needed a sardine and a bucket of milk. You can buy both at the Grand Exchange and soon I owned both. (Hint: make sure you go to the back of Gertrude’s house and pick some of the Doogle weed to rub on the sardine!) One saved cat later, I had my own little kitten! You have to feed and pet it, like any other real cat otherwise it will run away. Time to test my nurturing skills.

To end our session, we returned to Lumbridge to finish our flax spinning, this time with our feline companions!

 

Categories: Crafting, Defense, f2p, Gertrude's Cat, Lumbridge, p2p, Seers Village, Smelting, Taverly, The Grand Exchange, Tourist Trap, Varrock | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Game with a friend.

  1. Pingback: Weekly Review: RuneScape Edition Part II | Yesterday's news.

  2. nice description of my flax to bs profit system! Congrats on your kitten too, let me know when he’s a full grown cat.

  3. Pingback: Game with two friends! (Pt. 1) | Runescape: The Adventure

  4. Pingback: Final Project Write-Up | Yesterday's news.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

