Dealings with weird people and frog armies.

My computer was lagging hard.

My computer was lagging hard.

Now with those lodestones all activated I’m going to try and talk to some more people. I began this session in World 2, a member’s world. If you remember from my last post how I mentioned the place to be for members is the GE alas I teleported to Varrock and ran North to the Grand Exchange. If I could compare this place to an irl (“in real life”) location it would have to be the New York Stock Exchange. There is this constant chatter amongst people looking to buy and people looking to sell. Some people are more calm than others, while some are cursing with the very limited vocabulary they possess.  There are also the spectators in the corner and that is where I headed.

They were in a group of about seven or eight. Some were flaunting their levels like they were young men comparing the sizes of their dicks.

These guys were not very friendly.

These guys were not very friendly.

One guy was offering to lend out his santa hat (A super rare item Jagex only dropped on Dec. 25th, 2002. Worth about 122,213,043gp through the Grand Exchange.). I had never “lent” anything to anyone before, only permanently traded so I asked him how to “lend” something. his response was to completely ignore my question and just throw snowballs at me. Jerk.

There was another guy exclaiming if anyone could guess where his name came from, he’s give them something. His name was The Fuschino. Some girl got it and (you’ll only get this in a member’s world) he just up and gave her 5million gp. Jeez, I guess I need to brush up on my pop culture references.

Over by one of the cabanas there was a man named Nibisho looking for junk because apparently he was scammed.

Poor, naïve Nibisho.

Poor, naïve Nibisho.

This shocked me mostly because he was such a high level and usually if you’re that experienced you know your way past a simple scam. I was chit-chatting with him when another player, strfire75, came up and began harassing Nibisho with insults and then flaunting his skill levels (which were not very high for the experience he was claiming to have).   Nibisho ran to the bank and came backa  few seconds later with a giant carrot-potato looking thing of which he proceeding to smite strfire75. In response strfire75 threw confetti on him. It was a mighty battle.

I think, once the carrot was brought out, any negativity was deemed pointless because from that point forward the whole thing was one big joke. After a few more minutes of conversation, a player named Ryeezyyy traded Nibisho a cape and about 30k, seriously, what a nice guy.

Any malcontent was dissolved immediately.

Any malcontent was dissolved immediately.

If I wasn’t just starting out myself, I’d have donated as well. After Nibisho left, I wandered around from pack to pack eavesdropping on the conversations of others. Everyone seemed to have their own name for things and the vernacular wasn’t always easy to follow. If you find yourself in this situation, use this as a guide.

Eventually I got bored in this intimidating member’s world where all people do is throw snowballs at you and throw money away like it’s nothing. I transferred over the World 3, a f2p world where the place to be is Lumbridge Castle. The people there were doing their own thing, telling stories about how they were thrown in jail or about how their best friend is racist. Nice, light small talk. Well, there I was just chilling in the courtyard when a procession of frogs wearing capes and carrying kites walked by. There were like twenty of them, all dressed the same and all following one another. They did about three passes around the castle and then they left.

Dafuq?

Dafuq?

I took that as my sign to leave. I had nothing in my inventory. I hadn’t gained any levels. I hadn’t even earned any more money. Although this session may have been rather unproductive for my character, I definitely had some interesting interactions with some crazy people.

Categories: f2p, Lumbridge, p2p, Skills, The Grand Exchange, Varrock | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Dealings with weird people and frog armies.

  1. Pingback: Weekly Review: RuneScape Edition Pt. 3 | Yesterday's news.

  2. Pingback: FRIENDSHIP. | Runescape: The Adventure

  3. Pingback: Final Project Write-Up | Yesterday's news.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

