Damnit, Drezel. (pt. 1)

Today I did a quest titled, Preist in Peril. You begin by speaking to the king of Varrock, King Roald. Apparently his friend, a monk named Drezel has gone missing and needs the help of a good Samaritan to find out hat happened! Well, well, well, I just so happen to know a good Samaritan who just so happens to be looking for a quest.

This is what my armor looks like, I'm supposed to me doing ok against this ghoul, right?

This is what my armor looks like, I’m supposed to me doing ok against this ghoul, right?

So, off I went to the east. It took me ages to find this temple when Drezel was supposed to be and when I finally did, the door was locked. GREAT. I examined the door a few times but to no avail. I tried to speak with this mysterious monk lingering outside but he ignored me. I checked out this mausoleum, opened the trapdoor and went underground. There was a level 50 dog there named Cerberus; I was surprised he didn’t attack me right away since monsters that high of level are usually placed there to attack people. Passing the dog, I went through a gate leading to a large room with a well inside surrounded by statues. I examined the statues and the well but nothing interesting happened. In the far corner there was another door leading to a library and what looked like a cave mouth dripping “holy water.” I tried to pass through it but I received a notice that “the guardian had not cleared me to pass.” By guardian I think they meant the level 63 ghoul wandering about the same room. Awesome, I have to fight this thing?! Lucky I brought all this food with me.

I needed to restock my health about three times but I eventually killed it and went to pass through when I received yet another warning. This was a warning you would get when you pass into the wilderness of the deep desert and it seemed fishy that a novice quest would send you into somewhere that dangerous. So, I returned to king Roald to double check what exactly it was I was supposed to be doing with that-there temple.

Of course he was of no help, he repeated what he had told me before but with no further aid. Alright, it’s time to outsource.

Back at the temple there was another player, obviously doing the same quest as me since he kept on stopping that that darned temple door that was locked from the inside. I asked him what to do and he said I had to kill the dog. What?! Since when was I told to kill a dog?! That dog wasn’t trying to kill me… I was just so confused. Then I right-clicked on the door this time instead of left-clicking to pull down the options list and that’s when I saw the option to “knock.”

Well, now why didn’t I think of that? Lo and behold when I knocked someone on the other side spoke to me, their script suggested they weren’t who they were saying they were (They claimed they were Drezel but in that horribly sketchy kind of way). Alas, they told me to kill Cerberus, so I had to swallow my morals and kill that poor dog.

At least they were considerate, right?

At least they were considerate, right?

Right in the middle of my battle my game froze and crashed so I had to switch over to a less populated world. The Canada server only had about 200-something people in it so that would work.

Eventually, I killed the dog. Poor thing. I talked to the people at the temple and they sent me back to the king who was none-too pleased to hear I had killed Cerberus. Apparently his kingdom was now going to be invaded by crazies. COOL GUYS. I returned to the temple to try and fix my mess and this time I could just walk on in since I guess the monks in there now considered me a total bro for killing that dog. I found Drezel locked in a chamber on the third floor right next to a vampyre coffin. I had to find a key by killing one of the monks downstairs and then I had to exchange it with one of the keys held by those statues down in the mausoleum. Easy enough. Soon I had the key for Drezel and he was free…

Or was he?

Find a shortcut through Priest in Peril here.

 

Categories: f2p, p2p, Priest in Peril, Varrock | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Damnit, Drezel. (pt. 1)

  1. Pingback: Weekly Review: RuneScape Edition Pt. 3 | Yesterday's news.

  2. Pingback: Game with two friends! (Pt. 1) | Runescape: The Adventure

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

