Old school like the old school.

Still going strong since 2007.

Still going strong since 2007.

I had previously mentioned an Old School RuneScape, before the updates that have made the world what it look like now. When I say Old School, I mean the 2007 version. In order to give the readers a proper comparison, I’ve taken a journey there myself. (Keep in mind that if you have a Mac operating system this will not work: I had to use my boyfriend’s Windows 7 for this project.) Also, because I was on a PC, the screen shot capabilities were a little different and I apologize for their lack of quality.

Seriously, this is as basic as it gets.

Seriously, this is as basic as it gets.

Although this world has the same map, you need to begin from scratch. Well, almost scratch. You get to keep your name but since the graphics are so basic, it’s just better to re-do your outfit. But yeah, when it comes to skills you also have to start from zero but the 2007 version has it’s own Tutorial Island for you to visit; however, this one doesn’t take four freaking hours to finish. You literally mine some stuff, bake some bread, kill a rat, talk to a wizard and leave. Real complicated. Maybe this is why so many players petitioned to have the 2007 version brought back even if it was on a separate server.

Once I got past the Tutorial Island, I landed in Lumbridge where things have changed. There aren’t any lodestones here. If you wish to teleport you need to either be a high-enough mage or have the magic tablet specifically set to the destination you’de like to travel to.

Oh how the times have changed thee, Lumbridge.

This is just outside the entrance to the Lumbridge Castle courtyard.

I met up with ArcherySwag (Taylor) and he gave me one of these to go to Camelot. He showed me a new way to profit! This is only for members, if you wish to profit as an f2p player, I suggest the Beefy Bill formula. The key phrase here is: toad legs. There is a pond surrounded by toads just chilling on the ground. Here is the 11-step process to profit.

  1. Empty inventory.
  2. Journey to Swamp in the Tree Gnome Stronghold.
  3. Fill inventory with toads.
  4. Pull toads’ legs off. (Be careful because once you do this they become edible.)
  5. Run Southwest to Grand Tree Bank.
  6. Deposit legs.
  7. Repeat steps 1-6 as many times as you like.
  8. Walk/run/teleport to Grand Exchange.
  9. Withdraw legs in note form.
  10. Sell at Grand Exchange price.
  11. Profit.
Toads on toads on toads.

Toads on toads on toads.

It is really quite simple and the gameplay from these is extremely similar to what it is now. Or course, in my case, I had a friend show me the way so the process moved quite a bit faster than anyone else’s but regardless, get money, get paid.

Between the two so far, I have much more fun playing on the new edition just because I like the advanced graphics so much more. If you’re feeling vintage, by all means play the 2007 version but if you’re ready to so some business, take the RS2 route. Oh, and I guess if you have a Mac you’re kind of forced that way anywho. I don’t think I’ll be playing this version anytime soon unless Taylor’s there. Plus, Potam looks like a bell-bottomed hippie with orange dreadlocks.

Categories: Camelot, f2p, Lumbridge, p2p, The Grand Exchange, Tutorial | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Old school like the old school.

  1. Pingback: FRIENDSHIP. | Runescape: The Adventure

  2. Pingback: Final Project Write-Up | Yesterday's news.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

